If you think you can, you can.


If you think you can, you can.

This is what my fortune cookie said last night. I’ve thought a lot about that since I opened it. Initially, like I do with most fortune cookies, I read it, dismissed it, and threw it in the garbage. Yeah. Yeah. Whatever.

Last night, I pulled it back out, wiped off the cashew chicken remains, and set it up on my kitchen window sill. What do I think I can do? I never thought about this before. I know what I can’t do; I’ve been telling myself as have others what I can’t do for years. So, I’ve decided to make a list of 8 things I can do. Why 8? Because today marks my 8th day of waking up sober.

I can

1. wake up sober.

2. be patient with myself and others because I am not hungover and irritable.

3. drive the speed limit to work because I am not running late because I overslept due to drinking the night before.

4. (speaking of sleep) sleep a full 8 hours without waking up- something I fooled myself into thinking before I needed alcohol and a sleeping pill to do.

5. tuck my kids into bed without brushing my teeth first because I no longer reek of Captain and Coke.

6. tell my husband that I honestly did NOT plan to tell him I sent my college-aged daughter money. (He already knew.)

7. truly ask God for help not because I am drunk, on my knees bartering with Him, but because I am sober and know I have a long road ahead of me and I cannot do this alone.

8. ask for help. This last one is new. I liked to think I knew it all. Now, I KNOW how little I know.

2 thoughts on “If you think you can, you can.

  1. Wonderful.

    It reminds me of that quote from Henry Ford – “If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you’re right.” Don’t you love when things come to us at just the right time, like that fortune? I love when that happens. And I am so happy for you where you are at right now. The little things…that is where we find the joy early on and you are seeing that. Sleep. Not having to lie. Being on time. Doing the right things. These might seem very apparent to others, but for those in early recovery…they are big.

    Blessings,
    Paul

    • Thanks for the comment, Paul. Being sober has afforded me the opportunity to appreciate what has been in front of me my whole life. I am so new to this and the journey is definitely new and scary, but part of that makes it brilliant, too.

Leave a Reply

